Writing and Other Afflictions

"If it was easy, everyone would do it." –Jimmy Dugan, "A League of Their Own"

The Seeds of Writing

I might have been predisposed to write from an early age. My mother (who is on my mind today) gave me a blank book to write a story in at the age of…seven, perhaps? Eight? She read to me, shared not only books she liked but books she thought I would like, and helped me explore my interests in whatever direction they branched. She was not a fan of science fiction and fantasy, but when I showed an interest in it, she helped me find good books–“The Dark Is Rising” series came from her, and Narnia, and Prydain–and then let me go off on my own.

I was fortunate enough to be exposed to creativity and writing at an early age, and in high school, I had a couple friends who shared at least a love of F/SF books with me. After college, I tried to recover that sense of community in writing again. It took a while, but in the late 90s I met some other writers online, including Jeff Eddy, with whom I founded Sofawolf Press. And in the mid-2000s, in the Bay Area, I met a small group of writers who have really helped me rediscover that community.

I think that writing, in a way, is my continuing quest to maintain that connection with other people, to rediscover the sense of wonder I had growing up when I read those books and shared them with friends. That I’ve been able to forge connections and close friendships via my writing is really a tribute to the foundation laid early on in my life, with the very first friend I shared stories with.

Lots of my friends have children now, and because I have a lot of awesome friends, I am seeing a lot of children having those same kinds of foundations laid. It makes me happy, and hopeful, and excited for the future.

Write Back!

