Writing and Other Afflictions

"If it was easy, everyone would do it." –Jimmy Dugan, "A League of Their Own"

Will Wonders Never Cease

So I am totally writing this for my good friend and mistress of all themes Brooke Wonders, who called me out (along with a bunch of her other friends) in a recent post where she said “you guys better post because I want to read about what’s happening in your life.” Well, okay! So here is some stuff that is happening with me.

I am flying all the hell over the place. I have in the last month been to Seattle and Minneapolis, and in a week I fly to Dallas. Then we are having a Sofawolf retreat back in Minneapolis and then Rolo and I fly to Australia to represent Sofawolf at MiDFur X. Fortunately we are not doing any holiday travel this year, although we are going back to Vegas for New Year’s, so I guess we are doing holiday travel.

And as far as writing goes, I am pretty excited to announce that I will have a story upcoming in the November issue of Apex Magazine. Apex is pretty darn cool, and the list of authors they have published this year includes lots of people whose writing I admire: Mary Robinette Kowal, Rachel Swirsky, Elizabeth Bear, Kij Johnson, Ken Liu, Peter M. Ball, and lots more. Published alongside me is going to be a reprint from Eleanor Arnason, another writer I admire, so that’s all pretty awesome. If you are not currently reading Apex–why not? November is a great month to start. I’m just sayin’.

Also I have been trying to write one short story a month this year, and have been pretty much successful. Editing them and sending out…not so much. I have written a couple little flash pieces that are accumulating rejections from the two or three markets that will take that length, but I also have a neat little piece in the works that I have high hopes for.

So there you go. Things are generally fatiguing but good!

 

One response to “Will Wonders Never Cease

  1. sunscald October 11, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks for the update, and I can’t wait to read your Apex piece. :-)

Write Back!

