Writing and Other Afflictions

"If it was easy, everyone would do it." –Jimmy Dugan, "A League of Their Own"

Writing Update 8/11

I would like to have something interesting to say every time I post about writing. I would also like a van full of money to be driven up to my house and abandoned. We make do with what we have.

So I finished a draft of that story I started at Clarion. It’s 9000-some words and though it has a decent start and a reasonable ending and some good characters, it is kind of held together with spaghetti at the moment. I will let it sit and then revise.

In the meantime, I am working on a short piece for a fellow Clarionaut, and I will share a small bit of it here:

So the boy came to be called Theophilus, beloved of the gods. He danced for the town at every sacrifice, and every season he danced, the town remained blessed. Only Theophilus’s father was troubled. He knew that those who attract the attention of the gods seldom live long, peaceful lives.

2 responses to “Writing Update 8/11

  1. James Worrad August 15, 2011 at 3:17 am

    Sounds fascinating. Keep up the good work, dude!

Write Back!

