Writing and Other Afflictions

"If it was easy, everyone would do it." –Jimmy Dugan, "A League of Their Own"

Dry Spells

Sometimes you just hit one of those times when nothing is calling to be written. I had three days off after Christmas, and I spent them running errands and watching TV. I have several stories waiting to be written, but I haven’t been thinking about any of them. So when I sit down to write them, nothing flows.

I think the occasional dry spell is not too bad for you as long as you don’t put yourself in the mindset that you have to be writing. It’s a bit irritating to have all this time and not be using it, but it’s also good to relax and take a break once in a while. I’ve actually been enjoying the time off from work and from writing, so I think it’s been good. And the stories are percolating, it’s just been a busy month and I haven’t had a real chance to think about them.

What I’m going to do tonight is pull up a couple stories and just force myself to get back into the flow of them, now that my free time is almost over. After all, when I get busy again, I’m going to need some distractions, right?

3 responses to “Dry Spells

  1. Zee January 1, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Personally I’ve never gotten a dry spell, though my work ‘varies’ in quality.

  2. lazyfox January 2, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    It just always happens in vacations. You have a list of plans for it but you first want to relax a bit. And then, before you know it, the vacation is almost over.

Write Back!

